MRI, or Magnetic Resonance Imaging, allows the radiologist to “see” soft tissue, such as muscles, fat and internal organs without the use of x-rays. Besides being a totally painless exam, Magnetic Resonance Imaging has no known side effects. MRI is most commonly performed to evaluate the head, spine and joints, although we now offer many new applications. A spacious wide open air design to reduce claustrophobia and patient anxiety.

Computed Tomography, or CT scan, combines x-rays with computer technology to create images of different bone and organ sections. Unlike standard x-rays which take a picture of the whole structure being examined, CT has the ability to image that same structure one “slice” at a time. In standard x-rays, dense tissues like bones can block the view of the body parts behind them. In CT, the various slices clearly show both bone and underlying soft tissue.
A dye that contains iodine (contrast material) is often injected into the blood (intravenously) during a CT scan. The dye makes blood vessels and certain structures or organs inside the body more visible on the CT images. If an abdominal CT scan is performed, a contrast material is usually given by mouth (orally).

An x-ray (radiograph) is a non-invasive medical test that helps physicians diagnose and treat medical conditions. Imaging with x-rays involves exposing a part of the body to a small dose of ionizing radiation to produce pictures of the inside of the body. X-rays are the oldest and most frequently used form of medical imaging. A bone x-ray makes images of any bone in the body, including the hand, wrist, arm, elbow, shoulder, foot, ankle, leg (shin), knee, thigh, hip, pelvis or spine. A chest x-ray is the most commonly performed diagnostic x-ray examination. A chest x-ray makes images of the heart, lungs, airways, blood vessels and the bones of the spine and chest.

Ultrasound exams can help diagnose a variety of conditions and assess organ damage following an illness. Physicians use ultrasound tests to evaluate symptoms such as:

  • Pain
  • Swelling
  • Infection
Types of ultrasound tests:

Cardiovascular Ultrasounds

A cardiovascular ultrasound, or an echocardiogram (echo), uses ultrasound imaging to look at the size, shape and motion of the heart.

An echocardiogram shows:

  • 4 chambers of the heart
  • Heart valves and the walls of the heart
  • Blood vessels leaving and entering the heart
  • Pericardium (the sac that surrounds the heart)

Specialized echocardiograms include:

  • Contrast echo (a solution is injected into the vein and can be seen in the heart)
  • Stress echo (records the heart’s activity during a stress test)
  • Echo with Doppler ultrasound (helps assess blood flow)
  • Transesophageal echo (a tube with an ultrasound device at the end is put down your throat into the esophagus. May be needed instead of standard echocardiogram for people with certain lung diseases or obesity.)

An echo may be used to:

  • Evaluate a heart murmur
  • Diagnose valve condition
  • Look for changes in the heart’s structure
  • Assess damage to the heart muscle after a heart attack
  • Asses the function of different parts of the heart in people with chronic heart disease
  • Test blood flow through the heart
  • Assess chest pain
  • Look for blood clots

Heart (Vascular) – Venous and Carotid

Venous ultrasound provides pictures of the veins throughout the body.


Ultrasound imaging of the breast produces a picture of the internal structures of the breast


Abdominal ultrasound imaging is performed to evaluate the:

  • kidneys
  • liver
  • gallbladder
  • pancreas
  • spleen
  • abdominal aorta and other blood vessels of the abdomen

Ultrasound is used to help diagnose a variety of conditions, such as:

  • abdominal pain or distention.
  • abnormal liver function.
  • enlarged abdominal organ.
  • stones in the gallbladder or kidney.
  • an aneurysm in the aorta.


There are three types of pelvic ultrasound:

  • abdominal (transabdominal)


An ultrasound of the thyroid produces a picture of the thyroid gland.


Ultrasound imaging of the scrotum provides pictures of the testicles and the surrounding tissues of a man or a boy.

Access Online Patient Portal

Patient Portal Instructions